beautiful vacuum

Monday, October 22, 2007


Ocean covers almost three quarters of the surface of the Earth, and nearly half of the world's marine waters are over 3000 m deep.

This global, consistent body of salt water, called the World Ocean, is divided by the continents and archipelagos into the following four bodies, from the largest to the smallest: the Pacific Ocean, the Atlantic Ocean, the Indian Ocean, and the Arctic Ocean, and, according to some authorities such as International Hydrographic Organization, a fifth ocean, the Southern Ocean.

Some geographers and some governments but not the US, recognizes the IHO as defining official water body names and boundaries. The IHO officially sanctioned the Southern Ocean name only in 2000, but its definition by a line of latitude has left its acceptance as a fifth ocean open to question. The National Geographic Society and some other leading geographers and cartographers continue to use "South Pacific", "South Atlantic", and "Indian" Ocean for the waters around Antarctica. A few Oceanographers recognize only four oceans also, treating the Arctic Ocean as a part of the Atlantic Ocean.

Halloween Costumes


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home